1001 Movies

At the end of March 2012 my contract came to an end on my then job; 4.5 years working as a Microbiologist for the University of Aberdeen.  As a leaving present I got some wine, some beer, a framed photo and this rather enormous book.

So this “new project” is a sort of life-project kind of way! I am under no illusion that I would ever manage such a feat; still it would be nice to make quite a dint in the list.  At a quick count I’ve seen 160 (actually 183 now) on the list.  So just 841 to go then!  Organised in chronological order the book ranges from Le Voyage dans la Lune (A Trip to the Moon) from 1902 directed by Georges Méliès, all the way to the Coen Brothers True Grit in 2010.  There are all the classics that you would expect to find, as well as (to me) surprise entries such as Groundhog Day, This is Spinal Tap, or Young Frankenstein.

There is a nice checklist at the beginning of the book which I shall keep on top of, but I will also now label all films I watch with 1001 Movies (and probably retrospectively label others) to keep track of them.  So here’s to watching lots of great films, and many thanks to everyone in my lab who contributed to the gift.

Leave a comment