The Revenant (2015)

e1f48c2858

Wow, just wow!  Following on from the critical success of Birdman, Alejandro González Iñárritu presents us with another Oscar-baiting film.  I have never seen Birdman, but if the Revenant is anything to go by then the 2014 film must have been tremendous too.

Everything about this film is epic and spectacular, including the length.  I want to say that I enjoyed it all so much that I could have watched more, but I was so exhausted by the end I don’t think I could have managed it.  The film-making was also spectacular, some of the scenes near the beginning with long sweeping unbroken shots would be dazzling if they weren’t so brutal.  The same goes for the bear attack which was amazing, even though I was watching from between my fingers!

The cast are all excellent too.  Obviously diCaprio is the star of the show, but I thought Tom Hardy was amazing.  Domhnall Gleeson and Will Poulter we also pretty brilliant.  Music by Carsten Nicolai is moody and atmospheric which perfectly complements the tremendous photography by Emmanuel Lubezki, of Children of Men, Gravity and Birdman fame.

Basically I thought the whole thing was excellent, completely immersive and slightly overwhelming.  But, you know, that’s just, like, my opinion man.

Leave a Reply

